Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

FSM Recognizes Kosovo Act of Self-Determination

Palikir, Pohnpei (Dept. of Foreign Affairs): December 5, 2008 - The Department of Foreign Affairs is pleased to announce that the Federated States of Micronesia has joined the growing number of countries that have formally recognized Kosovo since its declaration of independence on February 17, 2008. The FSM now joins Australia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, and Samoa from the Pacific region that have recognized Kosovo.

Of the 27 EU Member States, 22 have extended recognition to the Republic of Kosovo. The Kosovar act of self-determination has also been recognized by the United Kingdom, France, and the United States.

For more information contact the Division of American & European Affairs in the Department of Foreign Affairs at (691) 320-2544.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356