

Permanent Mission of the Federated States of Micronesia to the UN

300 East 42 Street, Suite 1600 New York, N.Y. 10017

e-mail: fsmun@fsmgov.org

Telephone: (212) 697-8370 Facsimile: (212) 697-8295

http://www.fsmgov.org/

## Agreement on mutual visa waiver signed between the Federated States of Micronesia and the Russian Federation

September 22, 2017 (New York) – The Federated States of Micronesia and the Russian Federation agreed to ease travel requirements by signing an Agreement on the Mutual Waiver of Visa Requirements for Nationals of the Federated States of Micronesia and Nationals of the Russian Federation.



The Agreement was signed between the Foreign Ministers of the two nations at a ceremony on 21 September 2017 in the margins of the Pacific SIDS-Russia high-level meeting in New York during Leaders Week at the 72nd session of the United Nations General Assembly. The FSM Secretary of Foreign Affairs, H.E. Lorin Robert and Russia's Foreign Minister, H.E. Sergey Lavrov, signed the Agreement on behalf of their respective countries. In the Agreement, the term travel document includes a diplomatic passport, an official passport (also called a service passport), and a regular passport. Under the terms of the Agreement, it was also agreed that "the competent authorities" of both the Russian Federation and the Federated States of Micronesia "reserve the rights to deny entry into, or shorten the stay in the territory" of the Russian Federation and of the Federated States of Micronesia, of nationals of the two countries that may be considered undesirable.

The Agreement will become effective only after both parties have completed the establishment of their internal domestic procedures.

Secretary Robert was in New York as part of the Federated States of Micronesia's delegation to the 72nd session of the UNGA headed by Vice-President Yosiwo P. George.